Magabala Books Magabala Books Australia’s leading Indigenous publisher Support us

We respectfully caution Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander readers that this website contains images of people who have passed away.

← News

Magabala titles selected as CBCA Book of the Year Notables

Wed, Feb 28, 2018

CBCA 2018 Notable Magabala titles

This week the Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) released its list of Notable Books in the 2018 Book of the Year Awards, and we're thrilled to announce that four Magabala titles were selected. Also known as the Long List, the four Notable titles are Molly the Pirate, At the Zoo I See and On the way to Nana's in the Early Childhood category, and Big Fella Rain in the Picture Book category.

The CBCA Awards were first presented in 1946 and are the longest running book awards in Australia. This year the judges received 444 books for consideration and have enjoyed a range of themes, characters and stories across the five categories.

"The 2018 Notables cover a wonderfully diverse spectrum of themes including family, change and acceptance, and some delightful reinterpretations of traditional folk and fairy stories," said CBCA National Chair Professor Margot Hillel OAM.

"Our authors and illustrators continue to create the most engaging stories for children."

The CBCA supports Australian authors and illustrators of books for young readers. These esteemed awards are highly influential in children’s publishing and bookselling, providing information about quality children's books for schools, libraries and the community at large.

The categories judged are:

The CBCA Short List will be announced in Brisbane on Tuesday March 27th. The CBCA Book of the Year Awards will be announced and presented on Friday August 17th.

Congratulations to our creators, Lorraine Teece, Paul Seden, Joshua Button, Robyn Wells, Francis and Lindsay Haji-Ali, David Hardy, Beryl Webber and Fern Martins.

See the CBCA website for the full list of 2018 Notable books.